Monday, February 26, 2024

More Saxon Classics Due 

Innocence Is No Excuse, Rock The Nations and Destiny are the latest Saxon albums to be given some impressive deluxe reissue attenntion. Initially intended for July, they will now be released on 10th August through BMG.

The CDs will feature 24-page media books containing original lyrics, rare photos and memorabilia, alongside bonus tracks including a selection of early demos – Some that didn’t even make final track listings as well as B sides and live recordings. The vinyl will be coloured splatter but come without bonus tracks.

Originally released on 24th June 1985, Saxon’s seventh album Innocence Is No Excuse was their first after joining the EMI label, after leaving Carrere Records. This was also their last album to feature long standing bassist Steve Dawson, who alongside vocalist Biff Byford, guitarists Graham Oliver and Paul Quinn and drummer Nigel Glockler recorded the album at Union Studios in Munich, Germany with producer Simon Hanhart. It was subsequently mixed at Wiseloord Studios in Hilversum, Netherlands.

Tracks featured are: ‘Rockin’ Again’, ‘Call Of The Wild’, ‘Back On The Streets’, ‘Devil Rides Out’, ‘Rock N’ Roll Gipsy’, ‘Broken Heroes’, ‘Gonna Shout’, ‘Everybody Up’, ‘Raise Some Hell’, ‘Give It Everything You’ve Got’, with CD bonus tracks: ‘Live Fast, Die Young’ (B-side of ‘Back On The Streets’), ‘Krakatoa’ (B-side of ‘Rock N’ Roll Gipsy’), ‘Broken Heroes’, ‘Devil Rides Out’, ‘Rock N’ Roll Gipsy’, Rockin’ Again’ and ‘Gonna Shout’ (All Chapel Studio demo)’. These can be pre-ordered by clicking here.

Saxon released their eighth studio album Rock The Nations on 13th October 1986. It was recorded at Wisseloord Studios, Hilversum in the Netherlands by Gary Lyons. Byford, who had incidentally begun his career as a singer/bassist, recorded all the bass parts on the album; however Paul Johnson is credited on the album as he joined before the album was released. Rock The Nations also features the unlikely guest of Elton John on piano on the tracks Northern Lady and ‘Party Til You Puke’!

Tracks featured are: Rock The Nations’, ‘Battle Cry’, ‘Waiting For The Night’, ‘We Came Here To Rock’,  ‘You ‘Ain’t No Angel’, ‘Running Hot’, ‘Party Til You Puke’, ‘Empty Promises’ and ‘Northern Lady’, with CD bonus tracks ‘Chase The Fade’ (B-side of ‘Waiting For The Night’), ‘Waiting For The Night’ and  ‘Northern Lady’ (7” single edits), ‘Everybody Up’ and ‘Dallas 1pm’ (Live in Madrid, B-sides of Northern Lady’), ‘Power & The Glory’, ‘Rock The Nations’ and ‘Waiting For The Night’ (All BBC Live At Reading Festival 1986). These can be pre-ordered by clicking here.

Destiny was released on 20th June 1988, Saxon’s ninth studio album, it was produced by Stephan Galfas at Hook And Manor studio in Berkshire, England. It is the only album to feature the rhythm section of Nigel Durham (drums) and Paul Johnson (bass) alongside long serving members Biff Byford (vocals), Graham Oliver (guitar) and Paul Quinn (guitar). Being a fan of Christopher Cross’s songwriting, it was Byford who came up with the idea of covering his track ‘Ride Like The Wind’ as the album’s lead single, after giving it a ‘Wheels Of Steel’ style makeover.

Tracks featured are: Ride Like The Wind’, ‘Where The Lightning Strikes’, ‘I Can’t Wait Anymore’, ‘Calm Before The Storm’, ‘S.O.S.’, ‘Song For Emma’, ‘For Whom The Bell Tolls’, ‘We Are Strong’, ‘Jericho Siren’ and ‘Red Alert’, plus CD bonus tracks ‘I Can’t Wait Anymore’ (12” mix), ‘Rock The Nations’ (Live At Hammersmith, B-side of ‘Ride Like The Wind’), ‘Broken Heroes’ and ‘Gonna Shout’ (Live In Madrid, B-sides of ‘I Can’t Wait Anymore’), ‘Ride Like The Wind’ and ‘For Whom The Bells Tolls’ (both alternative monitor mixes). These can be pre-ordered by clicking here.










Paul H Birch
Paul H Birch
RAMzine Senior Writer - Writer of fiction, faction and fact, has edited several newsstand magazines. He declares himself a hack for hire but refuses to compromise on the subject of music.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

two × two =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RAMzine is proud to support The Mike James Rock Show!

Latest Articles