Saturday, July 20, 2024

Joanne Shaw Taylor & Joe Bonamassa Video Release

Ahead of UK tour dates, Joanne Shaw Taylor releases a new music video, and it also features Joe Bonamassa, who co-produced her current studio album, Nobody’s Fool, that Guitarist Magazine has “regarded as her best to date”.

‘Won’t Be Fooled Again’ is the name of the track released and you can check out the video right here at RAMzine, as you can previous single releases from Nobody’s Fool.

As a writer on all but two tracks, Nobody’s Fool showcases Taylor’s vocal style, writing prowess and guitar skills, taking the listener on a journey into the wasteland of love and back into the light of hope and redemption.

“I didn’t have a script for this one; I was not chained to any one particular idea how it must sound,” Taylor explained, “I wanted to focus on the songwriting, and I was able to write whatever I was feeling. I had not done that before, and I must say it was a lovely experience.

Nobody’s Fool is also said to be her most personal album to date. Taylor’s writing laying bare love, loss, and the desire to be free of the past through the vessel of catchy hooks and infectious guitar riffs. The album takes the guitarist into new territory that can be described as retro pop with a modern flare, yet still encompasses the emotion of her blues roots.

She wrote all the songs on the album except ‘Missionary Man’, that was written by Annie Lennox and Dave Stewart of The Eurythmics, who himself plays on the album and was responsible for discovering her at the age of 16. Born and raised in the UK, right from the get-go, Joanne’ Shaw Taylor’s incredible guitar playing, and distinctive sultry vocals have set her apart from the rest of the crowd.

Recorded at Sunset Sound in Los Angeles, Nobody’s Fool is produced by Joe Bonamassa and Josh Smith and also features Bonamassa on ‘Won’t Be Fooled Again’, guitarist Carmen Vandenberg (Bones UK) on ‘Figure It Out’ and cellist Tina Guo on‘Fade Away’.

The full track listing is: ‘Nobody’s Fool’, ‘Bad Blood’, ‘Won’t Be Fooled Again’, ‘Just No Getting Over You (Dream Cruise)’, ‘Fade Away’, ‘Then There’s You’, ‘Runaway’, ‘Missionary Man’ ‘Figure It Out’, ‘The Leaving Kind’ and ‘New Love’.

The first single from the album was ‘Just No Getting Over You (Dream Cruise)’ and that can be streamed and downloaded here. That was followed by ‘Fade Away’, featuring cellist Tina Guo (Hans Zimmer).

“’Fade Away’ is a song I wrote about my mom who we lost in 2013,” said the singer/guitarist. “It’s a song about missing her, not being able to talk to her and if I was able to talk. Blues Matters Magazine described it as “another gorgeous ballad lamenting lost love, with the unexpected addition of heart wrenching cello taking it to another level.” That single can be streamed here and you catch the video for it here at RAMzine.

Subsequent single releases have been the riveting blues-rock tune of the title track, its lyrics showing show a keen sense of storytelling, and it can be streamed here. While, ‘Fade Away’ has been described as “breath-taking”.

Nobody’s Fool is available here through KTBA Record

Joanne Shaw Taylor also heads back out on tour through the UK this November.

Paul H Birch
Paul H Birch
RAMzine Senior Writer - Writer of fiction, faction and fact, has edited several newsstand magazines. He declares himself a hack for hire but refuses to compromise on the subject of music.

Our site contains articles about Gambling. If you or someone you know is struggling with gambling-related problems, contact the National Gambling Helpline on 0808 8020 1333. Free of charge, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Please Gamble Responsibly.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

five − three =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RAMzine is proud to support The Mike James Rock Show!

Latest Articles