Friday, April 12, 2024

Lock Horns in the Red Room

Northern Irish progressive metal act Lock Horns has been busy working on the follow-up to 2018’s Molon Labe opus, and are finally ready to reveal details of their fierce new studio LP, Red Room, due for release on 31st May, via The Distortion Project and Code 7 Distribution. 

The Belfast four-piece has emerged from the depths of an intensive creative period with an album that stretches the band’s creative horizon to new levels of intensity and unbridled passion.
Recorded in late 2022, Red Room went through a process of evolution, from as far back as late 2019/early 2020, before the global pandemic forced the world into somewhat of a dystopian nightmare. By the time the world opened up again, Lock Horns found themselves in possession of material that was now three years old, and not a reflection of who they had become in a post covid world.
The introduction of an eight-string guitar had drastically changed the bands creative potential, and a decision was made to wipe their creative slate clean, and embrace the rich vein to which they had stumbled upon. It was at this point, when Red Room was born.
Speaking of the new album, guitarist Junior Afrifa said; “Boundaries were pushed on this album, sonically and physically from a playing perspective. I truly believe this a seven-track album that is most definitely, ‘all killer and no filler’, as well as being  full of unique songs that take an unexpected turn at every corner.”

He continued; “From seven-minute chaotic riffs, to three minutes of polyrhythmic nightmares, this album is the brainchild of all four of us, and we’re all immensely proud of what we’ve created. Trust me when I say, it’ll be well worth the wait.”

Speaking of the album cover artwork he said: “The album’s overall theme is control and the struggle it brings. The control over someone else, yourself or the entire population and or the complete opposite which is no control thus anarchy.”

Due 31st May Red Room will feature seven progressive Metal, said to be “loaded with exceptional musicianship and punishing brutality”. It features the tracks: ‘The Origin Of Evil Impulses’, ’Rust’, Skin And Bones’, ‘Lab Rat’, Impression Of A Dream’, ‘The Golden Mean’ and ‘Expressions Of Madness’.

The Golden Mean‘ is out now as a single here and you can check out the video here at RAMzine.

Paul H Birch
Paul H Birch
RAMzine Senior Writer - Writer of fiction, faction and fact, has edited several newsstand magazines. He declares himself a hack for hire but refuses to compromise on the subject of music.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

eleven − 6 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RAMzine is proud to support The Mike James Rock Show!

Latest Articles