Tuesday, November 28, 2023

Robert Jon & The Wreck – Live DVD!

Robert Jon & The Wreck’s first-ever live DVD, Live At The Ancienne Belgique,  is out now via Journeyman Records.

Recorded during their sold-out show at the Ancienne Belgique in Brussels, Belgium on 29th June, 2022, the live album captures The Wreck amid their longest-ever tour – That’s 67 performances in 75 days across 9 countries.

The tour had been postponed for nearly two years due to the pandemic, so by the time the band hit the stage in Brussels, 50 plus performances into the tour, they were a well-oiled machine ready to blow the roof off the place – The setlist spanned the last decade of their prolific career, from their 2013 debut to their 2022 release.

“A lot of time and effort went into our show at the Ancienne Belgique,” comments frontman Robert Jon Burrison. “We had been meaning to make a live album for years, so we saw this as an opportunity to document and release unique, more evolved versions of our songs.”

Robert Jon & The Wreck has released two singles from the album – The first was ‘Shine A Light On Me Brother’, originally the title track of their 2021 studio album.

Lead singer Robert Jon Burrison noted of that song: “’Shine’ is always an exhilarating song to play live,” adding, “There are a lot of moving pieces and even a time change between the verse and chorus. Without the horns from the studio recording, it definitely has more of a rock feel to it in a live setting. This song also features the talents of two backup singers, which added a lot to our sound!”

It was followed by ‘Oh Miss Carolina’ and you can you can check out the videos to both right here at RAMzine and stream them by clicking here.

Regarding ‘Bring Me Back Home’, Burrison said: “We had the pleasure of writing this song with our good friend and frequent co-writer, Ian Cullen.” He continued, “The song touches on feelings of longing and isolation while being away from your loved ones, something we are all familiar with as we go on tour throughout the year.”

The full track listing for Robert Jon & The Wreck’s Live At The Ancienne Belgique is: ‘The Devil Is Your Only Friend’, ‘Do You Remember’, ‘Henry Guitar Solo’, ‘Hey Hey Mama’, ‘She’s A Fighter’, ‘Blame It On The Whiskey’, ‘Old Friend’, ‘Shine A Light On Me Brother’, ‘Oh Miss Carolina’, ‘Steve Keyboard Solo’, ‘The Death Of Me’, ‘Don’t Let Me Go’, ‘Tired Of Drinking Alone’ and ‘Cold Night’.

The live album is available to order on CD/DVD, double vinyl, and as a digital download by clicking here.

Having just wrapped up a run of performances throughout the southeast, Robert Jon & The Wreck will return to the road next month supporting Blackberry Smoke in the USA, followed by a European tour including UK dates in September – You can find more about that at RAMzine by clicking here.

Paul H Birch
Paul H Birch
RAMzine Senior Writer - Writer of fiction, faction and fact, has edited several newsstand magazines. He declares himself a hack for hire but refuses to compromise on the subject of music.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

17 + 18 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Avatar - Dancing, the Devil and Download Festival

Latest Articles