Saturday, August 13, 2022

Saxon announce ‘The Solid Book Of Rock’

British heavy metal legends, Saxon release The Solid Book of Rock, on August 18th 2017, a hefty collection comprising not only nine of Saxon’s studio albums from 1991 to 2009 but also eight bonus tracks and two bonus CDs and three DVDs.

The bonus CDs comprise Classics Re-Recorded that was originally issued with the initial pressings of Killing Ground, and Lionheart – Rough Studio Mix that was originally issued on the 2006 limited edition. The three bonus DVDs are those limited edition ones originally released with Lionheart, The Inner Sanctum and Into The Labyrinth.

Furthermore, The Solid Book of Rock come packaged in a 24 page 12” x 12” booklet with all the lyrics and credits, plus photos and a brand-new cover painting by Paul R. Gregory. There is also an exclusive limited edition containing a print signed by vocalist Biff Byford available from Amazon.

saxon press 2008 copy

“It’s worth getting just for the artwork. A great piece of Saxon history,” declared Byford further joking “And don’t forget I get to play King Arthur I didn’t get the Oscar that year or anything else for that matter.” You however, could you get your hands on The Solid Book of Rock!

The albums and tracks featured are as follows:

Solid Ball Of Rock (1991): Solid Ball Of Rock, Altar Of The Gods, Requiem (We Will Remember), Lights In the Sky, I Just Can’t Get Enough, Baptism Of Fire, Ain’t Gonna Take It, I’m On Fire, Overture In B-Minor / Refugee, Bavarian Beaver, Crash Dive.

Bonus Tracks: 12. Requiem (We Will Remember) [single version] 13. Reeperbahn Stomp

Forever Free (1992): Forever Free, Hole In The Sky, Just Wanna Make Love To You, Get Down And Dirty, Iron Wheels, One Step Away, Can’t Stop Rockin’, Nighthunter, Grind, Cloud Nine.

Bonus Tracks: 11. Princess Of The Night [live] 12. Forever Free [live]

Dogs of War (1995): Dogs Of War, Burning Wheels, Don’t Worry, Big Twin Rolling (Coming Home), Hold On, The Great White Buffalo, Demolition Alley, Walking Through Tokyo, Give It All Away, Yesterday’s Gone.

Bonus Tracks: 11. The Great White Buffalo [live] 12. Denim And Leather [live]

Unleash The Beast (1997): Gothic Dreams, Unleash The Beast, Terminal Velocity, Circle Of Light, The Thin Red Line, Ministry Of Fools, The Preacher, Bloodletter, Cut Out The Disease, Absent Friends, All Hell Breaking Loose.

Bonus Tracks: 12. Solid Ball Of Rock [live] on SPV 74192 CD in 2007 13. Crusader [live] on SPV 74192 CD in 2007

Metalhead (1999): Intro, Metalhead, Are We Travellers In Time, Conquistador, What Goes Around, Song Of Evil, All Guns Blazing, Prisoner, Piss Off, Watching You, Sea Of Life.

Killing Ground (2001): Intro, Killing Ground, Court Of The Crimson King, Coming Home, Until Hell Freezes Over, Dragon’s Lair, You Don’t Know What You’ve Got, Deeds Of Glory, Running For The Border, Shadows On The Wall, Rock Is Our Life.

Bonus CD – Classics Re-Recorded: Princess Of The Night, Crusader, Wheels Of Steel, Motorcycle Man, Strong Arm Of The Law, Denim And Leather, Dallas 1pm, And The Bands Played On.

Saxon band 2008 108 copy

Lionheart (2004): Witchfinder General, Man And Machine, The Return, Lionheart, Beyond The Grave, Justice, To Live By The Sword, Jack Tars, English Man O’War, Searching For Atlantis, Flying On The Edge.

Bonus CD:  Studio Audio – Rough Mix [moved from the DVD]: Witchfinder General, Man And Machine, The Return, Lionheart, Beyond The Grave, Justice, To Live By The Sword, Jack Tars, English Man O’War, Searching For Atlantis, Flying On The Edge, Beyond The Grave [single version].

Bonus DVD: Lionheart – in the studio [3.32], Lionheart – live [7.40], Beyond The Grave – promo video [3.45], 5.1 96k high end sound mix of the entire album [11 tracks] [45.09]

The Inner Sanctum (2007): State Of Grace, Need For Speed, Let Me Feel Your Power, Red Star Falling, I’ve Got To Rock (To Stay Alive), If I Was You, Going Nowhere Fast, Ashes To Ashes, Empire Rising, Attila The Hun.

Bonus DVD: A Night Out With The Boy [41.26]: To Hell And Back Again, A Night Out With Boys – The Idea, A Night Out With Boys – Not Really, See The Light Shining, A Night Out With Boys – How It Started, Redline, Suzie Hold On, Stand Up And Be Counted, Frozen Rainbow, Never Surrender.

 Into the Labyrinth (2009): Battalions Of Steel, Live To Rock, Demon Sweeney Todd, The Letter, Valley Of The Kings, Slow Lane Blues, Crime Of Passion, Premonition In D Minor, Voice, Protect Yourselves, Hellcat, Come Rock Of Ages (The Circle Is Complete), Coming Home [bottleneck version].

Bonus DVD: Perceval – Spanish art film, directed by Pablo Aragues Millan [20.09] [in Latin with subtitles], (Biff Byford plays King Arthur), Let There Be Light – Documentary about the live staging and lighting [36.48] [in German with subtitles], Audio interview with Biff Byford – Biff talks about the songs on Into The Labyrinth [18.44].

Solid Book Of Rock packshot small copy

Paul H Birch
RAMzine Senior Writer - Writer of fiction, faction and fact, has edited several newsstand magazines. He declares himself a hack for hire but refuses to compromise on the subject of music.

Related Articles


  1. I blog quitre often and Ӏ genuinely appreciate your contеnt.
    This ցreat article һas truy peaked my interest. I
    will bookmark yyouг site and keep cһeϲking ffor new information abnout once per week.
    I sսbscribed to your Feeⅾ too.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Napalm Death at Download Fest

Dead Posey at Download Fest

Latest Articles