Sunday, April 21, 2024

Topographic Drama – New Live Yes Release

During the summer of 2016, legendary progressive rock band Yes embarked upon an ambitious tour that took them through to this year. At each show, the band performed its 1980 album Drama in its entirety – for the first time ever – plus sides one and four from the 1973 double-album Tales From Topographic Oceans (their first number one album), together with fan favourites like ‘Roundabout’ and ‘Starship Trooper’.

Topographic Drama Commemorating that tour Topographic Drama – Live Across America will be released through Rhino Records on 24th November as a double CD and a triple LP. Both versions will feature detailed cover art designed by the band’s long time collaborator artist Roger Dean.

Topographic Drama – Live Across America features performances from 12 dates recorded on the same tour in February 2017, by the current Yes line-up of Steve Howe (guitars), Alan White (drums), Geoff Downes (keyboards), Billy Sherwood (bass), Jon Davison (vocals), and an additional drummer for that tour, Jay Schellen.

While featuring the best performances from the 2017 leg of the tour the set list mirrors the one performed at each concert. Opening with six songs from Drama, including the album’s only single ‘Into The Lens’, it was the band’s tenth studio album, peaking at No.2 on the U.K. album charts and their first not to feature original vocalist Jon Anderson, before taking in other past highlights, as outlined in full below for both formats.


CD Track Listing:

Disc One: 1. ‘Machine Messiah’, 2. ‘White Car’, 3. ‘Does It Really Happen?’, 4. ‘Into The Lens’, 5. ‘Run Through The Light’, 6. ‘Tempus Fugit’, 7. ‘And You And I’, 8. ‘Heart Of The Sunrise’.

Disc Two: 1. ‘The Revealing Science Of God’, 2. ‘Leaves Of Green’, 3. ‘Ritual’, 4. ‘Roundabout’, 5. ‘Starship Trooper’.

LP Track Listing:

Side One: 1. ‘Machine Messiah’, 2. ‘White Car’, 3. ‘Does It Really Happen?’.

Side Two: 1. ‘Into The Lens’, 2. ‘Run Through The Light’, 3. ‘Tempus Fugit’.

Side Three: 1. ‘And You And I’, 2. ‘Heart Of The Sunrise’.

Side Four: 1. ‘The Revealing Science Of God’, 2. ‘Leaves Of Green’.

Side Five: 1. ‘Ritual’.

Side Six: 1. ‘Roundabout’, 2. ‘Starship Trooper’.

Inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame earlier this year, 2018 marks half a century since the formation of Yes and the band will take in a 13-date UK/European tour next March as part of their intended celebrations. Full details can be found at RAMzine by clicking here. They will also headline their own Cruise to the Edge oceanic tour from 3rd-8th February starting in Tampa and visiting Belize and Mexico.

Paul H Birch
Paul H Birch
RAMzine Senior Writer - Writer of fiction, faction and fact, has edited several newsstand magazines. He declares himself a hack for hire but refuses to compromise on the subject of music.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

4 × two =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RAMzine is proud to support The Mike James Rock Show!

Latest Articles