Tuesday, October 26, 2021

25 Years of Metal Addiction

For a quarter of a century now, AFM Records has dedicated itself to delivering high class metal and hard rock. Over the years that’s meant numerous chart successes and being the recipient of international awards.

During its 25th year the label founds itself trawling through its archives, and numerous previously unknown rock treasures were unearthed. The result will see the light of day on 29th October this year in the form of 25 Years Metal Addiction – The Rare & The Unreleased.

As the title suggests, only songs have been taken into account that were previously unpublished, came as bonus material from country-exclusive editions (e.g. Japanese pressings) or were previously only available digitally.

Such a selection has now been gathered on this comprehensive, entertaining compilation. However, to consider the tracks leftovers or rejects we’re told would be totally misleading. Rather, the quality of the contributions is consistently surprising, leaving one to wonder how these pearls have been withheld from the metal world so far.

25 Years Metal Addiction – The Rare & The Unreleased, which comes as 2CDs in a digipak (and at a special price), with 30 songs and almost 140 minutes of playing time. It includes tracks from top-class bands such as U.D.O; Orden Ogan, Lordi and Firewind.

CD 1 features U.D.O.‘Falling Angels’, Firewind ‘New Found Power’, Evergrey‘The Darkness In You’, Metalite ‘Hunting High And Low’ (Stratovarius cover), Emil Bulls‘Night Over Disneyland’, Bloodbound‘Bloodheads United’, Orden Ogan‘Fields Of Sorrow’ (Orchestral version), Elvenking‘No Prayer For The Dying’ (Iron Maiden cover), Dragonland‘At The Inn Of Éamon Bayle’, Mors Principium Est‘Livin’ La Vida Loca’ (Ricky Martin cover), Dead City Ruins‘Devil Man’ (2019 version), Herman Frank – ‘Forever’, Ross The Boss‘Blood Of My Enemies’ (Manowar cover), Nostradameus ‘The Voyager’ and Solution .45‘Spirit Side Dreaming’.

CD 2 features Flotsam And Jetsam – ‘Life, Love, Death’, Dynazty ‘Prestige’, LordI‘Hulking Dynamo’, Shakra ‘I Want It’, Brainstorm‘The Kindred Soul’, Deaf Rat‘Like A Prayer’ (Madonna cover), Arion‘Punish You’ (Radio edit), At Vance‘The Evil In You’ (Re-recorded), Iron Mask‘March Of TheSlaves’, Paradox ‘Timegrain’, Evidence One‘Wait Up For More’,Burning Point‘Ton Of Bricks’ (Metal Church cover), Serious Black‘I Show You My Heart’, Pyramaze‘World Foregone’ (Orchestral version) and Epysode ‘Forgotten Symphony’ (Extended mix).

Paul H Birch
RAMzine Senior Writer - Writer of fiction, faction and fact, has edited several newsstand magazines. He declares himself a hack for hire but refuses to compromise on the subject of music.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Read our lastest zine!

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles