Monday, April 15, 2024

A Mixed Episode… From The Secret VI

Not to be confused with the ‘60s cult comic published by DC, The Secret VI are a Southern California metal band whose Mixed Episode EP is released September 11th through Vanity Digital Music/Vanity Music Group.

Comprising three tracks, ‘Plastic Smile’, ‘You’re All Bark’ and ‘Driven’, Mixed Episodes takes the band away from the death metal leanings of their 2012 demos and into a much more melodic metal direction.”I love all kinds of metal, including bands like Morbid Angel and Slayer,” said guitarist and founder member, Scotty Ch, “so my writing took a swing in that direction for a while but now we’re down to straight forward in your face metal.”


Lyrically the songs on Mixed Episode touch on subjects ranging from fake people (‘Plastic Smile’) to a very stern warning to potential enemies (‘You’re All Bark’) and finding inner strength (‘Driven’). Singer Marc Padgett tends to pull lyrical creativity from a bi-polar disorder, “Writing and performing music helps me release emotions that I’m unable to unleash any other way,” the frontman noted. “Being able to create is something that only comes around here and there for me and I never want to miss the train once it stops rolling.”

Mixed Episode‘s release will be preceded by a single and lyric video for ‘Plastic Smile.’

Paul H Birch
Paul H Birch
RAMzine Senior Writer - Writer of fiction, faction and fact, has edited several newsstand magazines. He declares himself a hack for hire but refuses to compromise on the subject of music.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

2 × four =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RAMzine is proud to support The Mike James Rock Show!

Latest Articles