Friday, April 19, 2024

Michael Schenker – Live in Tokyo with MSG Vocal Trio

Following hot on the foot of last year’s powerful DVD release Michael Schenker Temple of Rock On A Mission, recorded in Spain with hard rock guitar legend Michael Schenker and former Scorpions’ members, comes Michael Schenker Fest “Live” Tokyo filmed and recorded in Japan with Schenker reunited with vocalists and former members of his M.S.G. band.

Filmed and recorded in front of a crowd of 5,000 fans at the Tokyo International Forum in Japan on August 24th 2016, in-akustik will release Michael Schenker Fest “Live” Tokyo as 2CDs, a 2 CD + DVD combination, vinyl elpee, DVD, Blu-ray, and digitally, the whole caboodle in fact.

The concert historically sees Schenker joined by original M.S.G. vocalist Gary Barden, Graham Bonnet who joined after leaving Rainbow, and Robin McAuley from when the band branding name extended to read the McAuley Schenker Group.

“It’s a miracle that after all these years, something like this took place with the original band members of M.S.G;” Schenker said, “Being able to go back to those days and celebrate the music is an exciting experience for us, as well as for old and new fans. To being able to re-experience, and for the new audience to get a feel of what it was like, is incredibly enjoyable.”

Commenting on the chance to play with some of the artists in new territories, plus bring back the classic Sensational Alex Harvey Band as his rhythm section he further declared:

“It’s an amazing feeling to have all of my M.S.G. Family from the ’80s performing together and especially with Graham Bonnet, who I never got to play any concerts after our Assault Attack album that was originally released in 1982. Fortunately, being able to have the participation of original M.S.G. members such as Gary Barden, Chris Glen (bass) and Ted McKenna (drums) being part of it, and somehow, to perform with Robin McAuley and Steve Mann (guitar, keyboards) again as well, is pretty awesome.”

“It was just one enjoyable event from beginning to end. Seeing those happy, excited fans right from the beginning before the show even started, was incredible. It was like Budokan all over again,” the guitarist said, reflecting on 1982’s One Night at Budokan double live vinyl album.

“It’s wonderful how we all got on with each other. It felt incredibly natural, as if it was always like this,” Schenker commented on the line-up and how age had mellowed any past grievances. “Right from the start of rehearsal, the chemistry was great. No problems, just pure fun.”

Fans can hear the evidence for themselves as of Friday 24th March when Michael Schenker Fest “Live” Tokyo is released.


  1. Intro: Searching For Freedom
  2. Into The Arena
  3. Attack Of The Mad Axeman ft. Gary Barden
  4. Victim Of Illusion ft. Gary Barden
  5. Cry For The Nations ft. Gary Barden
  6. Let Sleeping Dogs Lie ft. Gary Barden
  7. Armed And Ready ft. Gary Barden
  8. Coast To Coast
  9. Assault Attack ft. Graham Bonnet
  10. Desert Song ft. Graham Bonnet
  11. Dancer ft. Graham Bonnet
  12. Captain Nemo
  13. This Is My Heart ft. Robin McAuley
  14. Save Yourself ft. Robin McAuley
  15. Love Is Not A Game ft. Robin McAuley
  16. Shoot Shoot ft. Robin McAuley
  17. Rock Bottom ft. Robin McAuley
  18. Doctor Doctor ft. Gary Barden, Graham Bonnet, Robin McAuley
Paul H Birch
Paul H Birch
RAMzine Senior Writer - Writer of fiction, faction and fact, has edited several newsstand magazines. He declares himself a hack for hire but refuses to compromise on the subject of music.

Related Articles

RAMzine is proud to support The Mike James Rock Show!

Latest Articles