Thursday, June 13, 2024

Mojo Thunder & The Holy Ghost

High-flying Kentucky rock’n’roll band Mojo Thunder release their sophomore album, The Infinite Hope, on Friday 16th August. Debuting  before that, and out now, is new single ‘Holy Ghost’.

Written by guitarist Bryson Willoughby, the barnburner tells the tale of a preacher who uses his power and position in his community to sow discord and create chaos.

“Small town preachers are a community staple, Willoughby began to explain. “This one inflates his sense of being by claiming a moral authority made permissible by a relationship with God. Scared of change and losing privilege, he makes an enemy out of progress, which manifests itself in a murder for hire.”

The single’s timely arrival is a rock ‘n roll summer-soaked shout-out anthem that needs playing loud when you have your next barbeque.

You can stream the song here and check out the official ‘Holy Ghost’ music video here at RAMzine.

Produced by Duane Lundy (Ringo Starr, Justin Wells, Sturgill Simpson) at the Lexington Recording Co., The Infinite Hope sees Mojo Thunder crafting their most diverse soundscapes, not only leaning into the nostalgic rock foundation of their 2021 debut album, Hymns From The Electric Church, but their more modern influences like Kings Of Leon, My Morning Jacket and Radiohead as well.

“We all shared the desire to do things as a unit, to perform, to mine for as many dynamics and emotions in performances, but still putting the priority on the songs,” said Lundy about the recording process. “The lyrics are thoughtful and meaningful, something that I feel like is often slighted in current rock material, but my main takeaway was the quality of people they are. Their invitation meant a great deal to me, and I feel like I have four new family members.”

Additionally, Willoughby noted, “We’re finding our footing musically where we don’t have to rely on old tropes so much. With this record we wanted to showcase all of our influences instead of relegating ourselves into one particular place.”

The Infinite Hope features the tracks: ‘The Sun Still Rises’, ‘Coming Back To You’, ‘Step By Step’, ‘Let it Fall’, ‘Holy Ghost’, Memphis’, ‘Caroline’, ‘Gettin’ On A Binge’, ‘Grace’ and ‘Greetings from Western Art’.

On the album’s ten tracks the band, comprised of BrysonWilloughby (guitar), Sean Sullivan (vocals), Zac Shoopman (drums), and Andrew Brockman (bass), explores everything from the dark side of activism (‘Holy Ghost’) and civil rights (‘Memphis’) to the healing power of a live concert experience (‘Greetings From Western Art’) and the feeling of not being enough (‘Step by Step’).

“Despite all the lows and bad experiences, people are tenacious, and we press ourselves to reach our highest ideals,” said Willoughby. “Despite what has happened, is happening or will happen, there’s always some reason to keep pushing — like an infinite hope — to get you through.”

Following concerts in the USA leading up to the album’s release prior to embarking on a month-long European tour (Full details can be found at

Mojo Thunder photo by Ali Ann.

In addition to the band’s core line-up, The Infinite Hope also features contributions from Seth Murphy (cello on ‘The Sun Still Rises’ and ‘Grace’), Lee Carroll (organ on ‘Memphis’ and ‘Greetings From Western Art’), and Duane Lundy (synthesisers and keyboards).

Founded as an edgy, hard rock band in 2018, Mojo Thunder have built up a rabid fanbase in the time since with its enthralling live shows and down-to-earth humility. During that time the band has become one of the most entertaining new acts to emerge from Kentucky — a state otherwise known for its bluegrass and country music — opening for the likes of All Them Witches, Justin Wells and Tyler Childers.

For more news on Mojo Thunder’s new album click here.

Paul H Birch
Paul H Birch
RAMzine Senior Writer - Writer of fiction, faction and fact, has edited several newsstand magazines. He declares himself a hack for hire but refuses to compromise on the subject of music.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

3 × five =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RAMzine is proud to support The Mike James Rock Show!

Latest Articles