Thursday, April 18, 2024

Sweet 16 for Kansas!

Kansas release The Prelude Implicit on 23rd September.  It will be the first studio album in 16 years for the US progressive and pomp rockers who have sold more than 30 million albums worldwide, and famous for hit singles such as ‘Carry On Wayward Son’ and ‘Dust In the Wind’ and classic epics like ‘Song for America’ and ‘Miracles Out of Nowhere’.

Now signed to the Inside Out record label, company founder and president Thomas Waber is one of their biggest fans, “I grew up listening to them, and their music is part of my DNA. The Prelude Implicit undoubtedly adds to their already impressive musical legacy.  I can’t stop listening to it, and we are proud to be releasing the album.”

Recorded in January 2016, The Prelude Implicit features ten new tracks written by the band and co-produced by band members Zak Rizvi (guitar) and original members Phil Ehart (drums), and Richard Williams (guitar).

This is definitely a Kansas album,” said Williams. “Whether it is the trademark prog epic like ‘The Voyage of Eight Eighteen,’ biting rocker such as ‘Rhythm in the Spirit’, or mindful ballad like ‘The Unsung Heroes’ there is something on this album for every kind of Kansas fan.  After years of pent-up creativity, the entire band is very proud of The Prelude Implicit.

The current line-up also features keyboard player David Manion, Billy Greer on bass and vocals, plus Ronnie Platt on lead vocals. “Recording The Prelude Implicit was an incredible experience, and I couldn’t be happier with the results. It is my hope that, knowing the intense listeners that Kansas fans are, the continuity yet diversity of this album will be pleasing to them.”

“Without a doubt, this is a new musical beginning,” Ehart commented while elaborating on the album’s choice of title and oil painted front and back cover by Denise de la Cerda of “a phoenix flying from the past into the future”.

 Songs featured on The Prelude Implicit are With This Heart’, ‘Visibility Zero’, ‘The Unsung Heroes’, ‘Rhythm in the Spirit’, ‘Refugee’, ‘The Voyage of Eight Eighteen’, ‘Camouflage’, ‘Summer’, ‘Crowded Isolation’ and ‘Section 60’. The record will be available on CD, vinyl and digitally through iTunes and Google Play with pre-order opportunities available starting later this summer at and

Kansas will be touring the USA this autumn in celebration of the 40th anniversary of their breakthrough Leftoverture album where they will debut songs from their new release The Prelude Implicit.

Paul H Birch
Paul H Birch
RAMzine Senior Writer - Writer of fiction, faction and fact, has edited several newsstand magazines. He declares himself a hack for hire but refuses to compromise on the subject of music.

Related Articles



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

14 + 1 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RAMzine is proud to support The Mike James Rock Show!

Latest Articles