Monday, March 4, 2024

Trail Of Tears’ Winds Of Disdain

Norwegian gothic and symphonic metal pioneers Trail Of Tears has signed with Greek record label The Circle Music for a multifaceted deal. The label will release the first new music by the band in over a decade, starting with the EP Winds Of Disdain, followed by a new full-length album.

Trail Of Tears founder and vocalist Ronny Thorsen commented regarding the signing: “After an extremely challenging period with the pandemic and various setbacks, we are finally ready to share the results of our work since first announcing our return back in 2020.
“We have been considering several options as to how we would like to proceed, and we are very happy having signed to The Circle Music, who will release both our new music in various formats, as well as the old albums on vinyl. Maria and her team have shown a true enthusiasm towards the band from the beginning, which has been a key factor in making our decision. We look forward to sharing our music with all of you, and to see you all out there very soon!”

The Circle Music added: “The ancient Greek philosopher Euripides argued that often ‘You speak with your silence’. This is how we interpret the sudden and unexpected hiatus that Trail Of Tears entered shortly after the release of their seventh album Oscillation. But today, after a decade, the time has come for them to speak and their return is in a deafening way. Having their new material in our hands, we can assure you that the wait was more than worth it. Trail Of Tears are one of the pioneers in the field of Gothic metal and not only have they not said their last word, but they are back more desirous than ever.“It is our great pleasure and our excitement to work together with this great band which we have followed since the debut album Disclosure In Red  and we will do our best to make this new beginning bring them the success they undoubtedly deserve.”

Trail Of Tears’ origins can be traced as back as 1994 when the musicians experimented under the name Natt but it was in 1997 that the current name was established. The band’s discography consists of seven full-length studio albums: Disclosure In Red and Profoundemonium (both on DSFA Records), A New Dimension Of Might, Free Fall Into Fear, Existentia, Bloodstained Endurance (all on Napalm Records), and Oscillation (Massacre Records) in 2013, after which the band went on an indefinite hiatus. 

Fast forward to 2020, when Thorsen finally initiated a reformation of the band, combining both original members and long-running collaborators, completed by singer Ailyn Gimenez (ex-Sirenia).  After battling the pandemic and ensuing uncertainties, the band is finally due to issue new material and begin touring.

Ronny Thorsen and Ailyn Giménez García – vocals, Runar Hansen – guitars, Nicolay Jørni Johnsen – guitars and programming and Endre Moe – bass is the line-up for new EP Winds Of Disdain and it will feature the tracks: Winds of Disdain’, ‘Take These Tears’, ‘No Colours Left’ and ‘T.B.A.’.

Winds Of Disdain will be released on 24 May 2024 in CD, vinyl and digital formats. The vinyl formats will include marbled red & black vinyl and marbled blue & black vinyl. Pre-orders are available now here.

The Circle Music will also issue all seven previous albums by the band on vinyl for the first time, starting with 1998’s debut Disclosure In Red

Paul H Birch
Paul H Birch
RAMzine Senior Writer - Writer of fiction, faction and fact, has edited several newsstand magazines. He declares himself a hack for hire but refuses to compromise on the subject of music.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

two × 2 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RAMzine is proud to support The Mike James Rock Show!

Latest Articles