Tuesday, April 23, 2024

Original Dio members reunite as Last In Line

Consisting of three of the original Dio line up with Def Leppard’s Vivian Campbell (guitar), Vinny Appice (drums) and Jimmy Bain (bass), have reunited as a new classic hard rock group. Taking their name from the 1984 studio album ‘The Last in Line’ in honour of one of the finest vocalists the World has ever seen, Ronnie James Dio.

Due for release on Friday 19th of February, 2016. Debut album ‘Heavy Crown’ will be available for purchase for those that just get enough classic hard rock. With releases in CD and CD/DVD and digital form. All can be pre-ordered here

Monday 16th November saw the world premier of The Last in Line’s first single ‘Devil in Me’ on Planet Rock (UK) and SiriusXM (USA), followed with the official music video here:

The single itself can be bought online along with pre-orders of the album from:

iTtunes: http://radi.al/LastInLineiTunes

AmazonMP3: http://radi.al/LastInLineAmazon

Vivian Campbell explains how The Last in Line came to be, “When we started this project a few years ago, the initial idea was to reunite the original Dio band to play the songs we wrote and recorded with Ronnie in the early 1980’s. Joined by Andrew Freeman on vocals, we played a handful of shows in southern California, the UK, and Japan. It was a limited ambition, but it brought us great joy in reconnecting to this great music, to each other, and to our collective history.”

When we first got together as the Last In Line line-up, our ambition at that time didn’t extend to writing and recording any new music”, says Campbell, “but when we were offered the opportunity to do so by Frontiers, we decided to enter the studio to write this new album in the very same spirit as we did the Holy Diver album; Back in 1982 Ronnie, Vinny, Jimmy and I went into Sound City studios to kick around ideas and riffs, and about six weeks later we started laying down the tracks for what was to become the Holy Diver album.”

CD Tracklisting

1. Devil in Me (Single)

2. Martyr

3. Starmaker

4. Burn This House Down

5. I Am Revolution

6. Blame It On Me

7. In Flames (Bonus Track Deluxe Edition)

8. Already Dead

9. Curse The Day

10. Orange Glow

11. Heavy Crown

12. The Sickness


DVD Tracklisting

1. Devil in Me (Videoclip)

2. Starmaker (Videoclip)

3. Making of Heavy Crown

Ash Crowson
Ash Crowsonhttp://www.acrowsonphotography.co.uk
RAMzine Senior Contributor - Guitarist, photographer, geek, gamer, full on metalhead and allround barfly, if i'm not at work, a gig or studying for my degree, you'll find me at the bar! A fascination with second world war history and military aviation. All with a very dry humour to round me off!

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

fourteen − 7 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

RAMzine is proud to support The Mike James Rock Show!

Latest Articles